The days are long but the years are short

I saw someone post a picture of their children a while back, with the quote “the days are long, but the years are short” and it hit home with me, especially recently. 

Having just had a second baby, makes my life so much more difficult than it was with one child. The transition to one baby, and then the transition to two is so, entirely different. You have to learn to split your time with the two, or while you’re handling one baby, also be able to include the other. Luckily Adalynn is so little now that she doesn’t really understand this, but I know it will get to the point where they both want my attention as much as they can get it. 

My days mainly consist of no showers, pumping, cleaning bottles, making bottles, changing diapers, diffusing tantrums and meltdowns, soothing a gassy baby, and trying to make life fun for Payton. Some days feel like weeks. Honestly some weeks feel never ending. I have found myself on multiple occasions praying my way through the week, so that I can have Brian home for an extra set of hands to help out. Or for just ONE more hour of sleep, or for the girls to nap at the same time so that I can rest, or even get some chores done. 

When I saw this quote, “the days are long, but the years are short.” I thought about it, more and more. As I thought, I realized how easy it is to wish away the days when they get hard. Going to bed at night sometimes, I get relieved because I get to start a new day in hopes of it being better, or in hopes that I have the chance to be a better mom than the day before. It’s easy to look at other families when you’re out to dinner and see their 5 year old sitting still, and look forward to those days yourself, or look at the kids who are 7,8,9 years old, who can just about do it all by themselves. It’s also easy to look back on the days when your toddler was once an infant and miss them being that size. I look at Addy and miss the days when Payton was her size. It’s amazing how fast time flies. I believe once you have children you wish for time to stand still even more so than before you have children. I remember before having a husband, and before having babies, I wished the days away wanting marriage and family, and looked forward to it so much. Now, I am here. I have all that my heart has desired, for as long as I can remember, and I need to take in every. single. moment. 

I am now cherishing every day with my babies. My husband let’s me stay at home with my kids while he goes to work, so that we don’t have to send the kids to daycare. Although it is the hardest job I’ve ever had, it’s also the best feeling to be the one to teach your kids things yourself, or to kiss your babies before nap, or to play with their new toys with them all day! I know not many mamas are as lucky as I am so I am very grateful for my position. Watching how fast Addy has grown in just two months, blows my mind. I see Payton turning into a little girl, not just a baby, right before my eyes. And Addy learns something new, or grows out of my favorite onesie she just fit in, every week it seems. While I am so excited for the future with my children, and to watch them blossom into beautiful young women…I am also so sad that soon, they won’t need OR want mama around to help them.

So, when the days are tough, the nights are long, the crying seems to never end, and the mess just never stops, I am going to remember this quote. I’ll remember that the years will pass by before I know it, and the long days are what I’ll be wishing so badly that I had more of. Love your babies in every moment of life. You’ll be looking back at it in pictures, as if it were yesterday.


Trying to keep it real for all the other mamas out there struggling to get through the rough days. Try to remember that in a blink, these moments will be memories! You’re not alone, and you’re doing great 😊

Leave a Reply

